How Many National Merit Finalists Are There in 2021?

Bishop Butler

January 12, 2023

Best Video Games

The number of finalists for the National Merit Scholarship Program is estimated at approximately 7,500. In order to ensure that the geographical distribution of these semifinalists is more even, the National Merit Scholarship Committee (NMSC) utilizes its own Selection Index to rank the applicants and identify the semifinalists.

NMSC names approximately 7,500 Merit Scholars

The National Merit Scholarship Program awards more than $30 million in scholarships to approximately 7,500 high school juniors each year. Each one of the winners is chosen without consideration of family financial situations or plans to attend a particular college. These are the academically talented students who represent less than one percent of the nation’s high school seniors.

Students may receive one of three types of scholarships. These include the National Merit Scholarship, corporate-sponsored merit scholarship awards, and special scholarships.

A student’s Selection Index score, a formula calculated by multiplying the student’s PSAT and NMSQT test scores, is used to determine their expected level of recognition. This score is also used to evaluate the candidates’ skills and abilities. However, this score is not the main reason for an entry into the program.

The NMSC selects the highest-scoring entrants in each state to become semifinalists. From there, the pool is whittled down to 16,000 finalists. Approximately half of the semifinalists will be awarded a National Merit Scholarship.

NMSC uses its own Selection Index to ensure a more even geographical distribution of semifinalists

If you are looking for a scholarship, the National Merit Scholarship Program can be a good option. The program offers about $2,500 to approximately 2,500 students. To qualify, applicants must have a stellar academic record, a solid self-descriptive essay, and an outstanding PSAT or NMSQT score.

Students are given a “golden ticket” when they reach the prestigious National Merit Semifinalist level. However, only about a few percent of high school students receive this honor.

Every year, thousands of students are named semifinalists. These students are evaluated by a panel of college admissions officers, and the most qualified students are awarded scholarships. In addition, NMSC provides a Certificate of Merit and Letters of Commendation to honor outstanding academic promise.

During the 68th annual National Merit Scholarship Program, the NMSC announced the names of over 16,000 semifinalists. These students will be notified of their status in September. Approximately 34,000 receive Letters of Commendation. This is the highest number of recipients since the program’s inception.

Scholarships awarded to National Merit Finalists

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation sponsors scholarships and offers special scholarships for high school students who are enrolled in the program. They offer one-time awards or renewable scholarships for up to four years of undergraduate study.

Students who qualify for National Merit Scholarships must be United States citizens and plan to enroll in an accredited college in the United States. NMSC scholarship stipends are not payable for limited-purpose institutions, such as United States service academies or distance learning programs. Applicants must also have a minimum qualifying score on the PSAT or NMSQT.

NMSC provides scholarships to around 1,000 high-scoring candidates. NMSC contacts students through their high schools to confirm their eligibility. A national pool of 16,000 finalists is selected, which includes the top-scoring candidates in each state. These students will receive $2,500 scholarships. In order to participate in the program, you must take the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

The scholarship selection committee consists of a mix of high school counselors and college admissions officers. They select a finalist in each state and choose a national merit scholarship recipient for $2,500.

Scholarships awarded to Honorary Merit Scholars

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) recently announced the names of over 16,000 semifinalists. Those who advance to finalist status receive scholarships worth $30 million. NMSC awards include the merit scholarship, the achievement scholarship, and corporate-sponsored special scholarships. During its 68th year, the program has recognized more than 3.3 million students.

About 1.5 million high school students participate in the National Merit Scholarship Program each year. Approximately 16,000 of these students become semifinalists, and about seven are named finalists. NMSC awards are available on a state-representative basis, and scholarships are generally guaranteed for four years of undergraduate study. Those who are awarded a merit scholarship must enroll in an accredited college for full-time undergraduate study.

Students who become merit scholars must meet several requirements to be eligible for finalist status. They must submit an application, submit scores from the SAT or ACT test that validate their qualifying score performance, write an essay, and be recommended by a school official.